Society Watch

…watching over you!

ECOWAS Lifts Sanctions On Niger Republic, Mali, Burkina Faso

1 min read

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has lifted the economic sanctions that were imposed on Niger Republic, Burkina Faso, Mali and Guinea.


The decision was reached in Abuja on Saturday, during the extraordinary summit on the political, security, and peace conditions in the ECOWAS sub-region.


The regional bloc, however, said the political and targeted sanctions remain.

READ ALSO: “You Still Get Mind Post Person Babe” Netizens React As Omah Lay Shared Memories From His London Concert

The West African bloc had in a swift response to the military coup in Niger, enforced a no-flight zone over the country.


The Nigerian government also cut off power supply to the military-ruled country to persuade the juntas to restore democracy in the country.