Society Watch

…watching over you!

Ekiti 7th Assembly: Adeoye Aribasoye emerges Speaker

3 min read

The lawmaker representing Ikole constituency two in the Ekiti State House of Assembly, Adeoye Aribasoye has emerged the Speaker of the House of Assembly.


Aribasoye, who was nominated by Femi Akindele of Irepodun Ifelodun Constituency One, was unanimously accepted by other members of the House during the first plenary session held at the Assembly chamber, Ado Ekiti.


The session was initially presided over by the clerk of the house, Tola Esan before the Speaker officially took over.


READ ALSO: Naira appreciates marginally against dollar as Tinubu assumes office


Also the lawmaker representing Ado constituency two, Bolaji Olagbaju was unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of the House.


The new Assembly was inaugurated through a proclamation letter forwarded by the Governor, Mr. Biodun Oyebanji and read by the Clerk, Mr. Tola Esan, amidst cheers and ovation in the hallowed chamber.


The ceremony was also witnessed by former members of the Assembly, traditional rulers, party leaders and other invited guests from all parts of the state and beyond.


Until his election as Speaker, Rt. Hon. Aribasoye served as the Chief Whip of the Sixth Assembly and also as the Chairman of the House Committee on Media and Public Affairs (official spokesman of the House).


Rt. Hon. Egbeyemi-Olagbaju’s last appointment in government was as Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Women Empowerment during the administration of the immediate past Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi before she resigned to contest for the Assembly seat for her Constituency.


The Clerk of the Assembly, Mr. Esan, who oversaw the election of the two presiding officers also administered the oath of membership, the oath of allegiance on them and the oath as Speaker and Deputy Speaker on the duo.


The motion nominating Rt. Hon. Aribasoye for the position of Speaker was moved by the re-elected member representing Irepodun/Ifelodun Constituency 1, Hon. Femi Akindele and was seconded by the re-elected member representing Ekiti East Constituency 2, Hon. Lateef Akanle.


The motion nominating Rt. Hon. Egbeyemi-Olagbaju for the seat of Deputy Speaker was moved by the re-elected member representing Gbonyin Constituency, Hon. Adeteju Okuyiga and was seconded by the re-elected member representing Ido/Osi Constituency 1, Hon. Abiodun Fawekun.


In his acceptance speech, the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Aribasoye pledged that the Seventh Assembly’s actions would be in the best interest of the people of Ekiti State, urging the support of all stakeholders, including the civil society, traditional rulers, the media and their constituents to achieve success.


The Speaker promised that his leadership would work with the two other arms of government- the executive and the judiciary for the prosperity of Ekiti State.


Aribasoye assured that the legislature would work with Governor Biodun Oyebanji to help him achieve his vision for the development of the state and keep Ekiti working towards the shared prosperity agenda encapsulated in his six pillars for Ekiti Development.


He also paid tributes to all his predecessors in office and all former leaders and members of the Assembly, promising to build on the solid foundation they had laid to make the state realize its full potential as a vibrant state.


The new Assembly adjourned sine die (indefinitely) after the inaugural session.